Sunday was our day to play the K Club. Yeah, I know… earlier blogs said that we were playing the K Club before the European Club but I was wrong. (hard as that is to believe). While the K Club is far from the birthplace of golf, in a way you could say it is the birthplace of our trip to Ireland.

Back in 2006 the Ryder Cup was played at the K Club (I never did find out what the K stands for) and Ron and Jane had joined a tour group that had ventured across the pond to witness the event. It was during this trip, while the Europeans were trouncing the Americans, that the idea for a Fairwood trip was first incubated. Who would go was an unknown, but Ron and Jane were very specific in how they wanted this trip to transpire. It was always billed (isn’t that the truth) as a “first class event”… complete with 5 Star Hotels and the best golf Ireland had to offer. (Special note to Ron and Jane: thank you so much for all your time and effort. This was a fantastic well organized trip and I can’t imagine anything I’d have done differently… we all thank you for a life time of memories!)

Their Ryder Cup experience had been arranged by Premier Golf and of course that’s who was contracted to put this trip together as well. You probably don’t find this hard to believe since we’ve been talking about this trip constantly (I think some people thought we went last year!), but the trip has been in the works for nearly a year now. Ann at Premier Golf did a fantastic job and the trip couldn’t have gone smoother.

I know I’ve really gotten way off track now (wasn’t I talking about the K Club?), but before I get the train turned around I really have to say something about our bus driver, Chris.

I never would have thought about a bus driver being an integral part of such a tour. Ron and Jane had raved about their previous driver and I thought, great… he can get us from Point A to Point B without taking too many side mirrors off the cars passing us on the narrow Irish roads! Boy was I wrong… Chris was instantly integral to making our trip enjoyable. While traveling between golf courses and new towns, he told us about the history of Ireland and pointed out so many numerous points of interest they are now just a blur… but I remember thinking “how can one person know so many intricate facts and stories, not to mention being able to pronounce all of those words”?

In addition to adding the tour aspects of our trip, while we were out golfing; Chris was busily working away to make sure we had dinner reservations (can you imagine walking into a place and asking “table for 16?”)… all perfectly timed to coincide with our golf matches including leaving us some time to hoist a few afterwards. And when we boarded the bus after golf, there was always an ice chest full of ice awaiting the partier’s in the back of the bus. (Who, of course, graciously shared their good fortune with the front of the bus.)

Chris (Thanks for the picture Susan… Chris loading up on ice!)

In addition, there were three days when not everyone played golf. Chris went out of his way to make sure they had activities to keep them occupied and told yet more stories of the history and culture of Ireland. I know that they all found this time with Chris very special.

So in retrospect, while Chris did a fantastic job of getting us from A to B, he did so much more and even Ron and Jane admitted that he was far better than the previous driver… Cheers to you Chris!!! You’re the Best!!!

Will someone please send me a picture of Chris to post on the blog? We’ve got to get his picture and it seems like he was always working to get us out on the course and I never got a picture of him… how sad it that? I have no picture of Chris with Sandi and me!

So finally… back to the K Club. As in all the previous posts, I won’t go into a lot of detail. The web site for the K Club tells it much better than I could. But I will tell you that of all the courses we played, it was the most different. It is the only “inland” course we played and for that reason it is described as a parkland course. (I thought Chris kept saying a Parker course, but sadly, no)

IMG_1123  IMG_1147

    

It is similar in nature to playing Fairwood, but designed by Arnold Palmer. (Fairwood was not…) Tree lined fairways, lush green fairways and roughs, a few small lakes and bunkers placed strategically on each hole. The day we played couldn’t have been better. Minimal wind, no rain… you would have thought we’d have torn this course to pieces and shot our lowest scores of the trip since it was so similar to our home course. We came close, but those strategically placed bunkers and lakes were put there for a reason I guess.

IMG_1131  IMG_1141

IMG_1159  IMG_1167

 

 

Another fabulous course!

 

