Well before Day 1 was over we put a dent in the liquor supply! So day 2 is started a little slow. At least we had done some searching yesterday and scouted out a couple of Starbuck’s locations. Yeah, they are even on Island Time at Starbucks! I mean really… how long does it take to make a latte!

Day 2 is going to be really awesome. We’re playing GOLF!! Woohoo! Yeah, as Jake Trout and the Flounders said, “I Love to Play”.

Well be playing at Puakea Golf Club. This will be a first for me and I didn’t really know what to expect. The head pro used to be head pro at our local country club. He’s from Hawaii and when given the chance to return… he jumped at it. Can’t say I blame him!

Puakea is an unusual course layout… almost like 2 different courses. The “front 9” is pretty wide open (With the exception of a 160 yard par 3, elevated tee and about 100 feet down to a green with a lake in front of it!!!) while the “back 9” seems much more tropical. Hit it long into a green and you’re deep into the jungle! Trust me… I did it on a short par 3 with a gap wedge.

After golf, we downed a few rum and cokes at the course and headed out for dinner. Ended up at Kieoki’s (or something like that). Think “Rain Forest Café” in a real life setting. In any event it is not on my list of recommendations. Drinks were good… food so so.

Back home, we’re working on reducing that liquor supply. (I said we would not have any left when we leave this paradise and I’m holding up my end of the bargain.

And finally… we’ll finish up the night with some hands of Pinochle. Judy and me against Steve and Sandi. I think this game has been going on for about 10 years now and no one remembers the score. At one time we (Judy and me) had over 25,000 points and we still hadn’t won! I think they keep changing the rules on us.

Kauai 2 2007-11 034

